Death: Coping With Loss

Posted on Updated on

The Word says that the day of one’s death is better than that of their birth (Para, Eccl 7:1 KJV).

“A good name is better than precious ointment; and the day of death than the day of one’s birth”

(Ecclesiastes 7:1 KJV).

Having had to deal with death a dozen or more times over years, some may feel their ability to cope with it, should come naturally. That couldn’t be further from the truth. (See Romans 1:20) Love is seen, heard, felt, imagined and existent everywhere at all times, yet by whom and when, and moreover how does it weigh on each of their hearts? (See 1 John 4:8)

Sometimes, when we want to be more near and involved in the final processes of a mourning phase of newly deceased/dearly departed loved ones or friends, social imbalance can be a deterrent; but not in a bad way. Sometimes we fail to remember that those closest to the gravely ill, newly deceased, are themselves; having to deal with important family business, details and other associated funeral arrangements among grieving  the loss of their loved one(s).

People can sometimes be unintentionally insensitive to these burdens and come off as unfeeling and uncaring. This is because they are blind to the emotional hurt and pain (invisible at times via strength) of the grief-stricken family member(s); as well as friends. Death ushers in many strengths as it does weakness to all who are affected by the passing or transition from this life into eternity…

Subjectively Unexpressed Experience: Death & Emotions via Mourning Loss of  A Loved One:

Oh how I so longed to be involved in the process and details surrounding my best friend’s home-going . Yet I had forgotten that while my best friend and I were close, I wasn’t solely his or her best friend and there were plenty others including family and friends, co-workers, associates, etc., who’d shared in knowing this person just as much as I had known them. That didn’t, however reduce the hurt that I’d feel unbeknownst to me. 

My emotions went on a roller-coaster ride going from hurt, anger, joy and sadness; one moment after the next. I couldn’t understand why there were so many emotions. What was the anger from? I was mad because they’d left without so much as a goodbye, or that they had left period. I was mad because of well hidden secrets, now unfolded before me. I was joyful because their suffering had ended and they would be meeting old loved ones in the heavens until that great day. I was sad because I wouldn’t be able to talk candidly with them daily, anymore. Sad because the plethora of times we’d shared and/or experienced; would now be banks in my sea of memories to wade through. 

That right there is a beauty all in and of itself. The shared years of experiences were mostly filled with love, happiness, great conversations, laughs and at times disagreement or not so good moments. Nonetheless, they were the kind I wouldn’t trade for anything extinguishable or tangible…LOVE like this is PRICELESS. #GodIsLove (See 1 John 4:8).

Right here in this wave of emotions is where the Most High showed me that my friend and I shared this belief and firmly agreed to respect one another’s faith.  I thank GOD ALMIGHTY for the opportunity for us both to have known each other from inwardly places where enormous’ strengths reign. (See Nehemiah 8:10)

Signed & Sealed with Eternal Love,

Grieving from the inside-out.

In Loving Memory of Sgt. Willie R McFarland

December 01, 1958 – November 30, 2018 

The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoices; and with my song will I praise.

Psalm 28:7 

 For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.

Romans 8:18

Leave a comment